Confusion as to Choosing a Carrier

Hello, everyone. I am wondering who, as a general rule,  the best carrier is in regards to mailing buyers their items.

I often notice strict weight and size restrictions with Royal Mail and if those are not met, postage starts becoming pricy. Yodel seems to be the cheapest, but I've had a couple of complaints from buyers in having used them because of delayed delivery  (though they gave me, the seller, a positive review at the same time). 

I am rather new at selling at Ebay in having made just ten sales  in the past year. Thus, any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Message 1 of 11
See Most Recent
10 REPLIES 10

I also want to add that I had a set postage in regards to an item that recently sold, yet the buyer seemed able to still choose his preferred carrier (with tracking available) which had a higher shipping rate. However, he only paid for the amount of postage relevant to the specific mailing service I opted for, which is around £5.00 less. 

Because we live in the same county and he's fairly close-by, I'm tempted to just deliver it myself. At this rate, I'm concerned it still won't make it by the maximum delivery date.

A package I sent to a buyer last Monday was supposed to have been delivered no later than Wednesday and, as of Thursday, it's still sitting in a national hub.  

I pride myself on shipping things securely and speedily. However, the confusion I have over postage, carriers, delayed deliveries, etc., etc. is cramping my style. I also don't want/need an irate buyer giving me negative feedback because of it. 

Message 2 of 11
See Most Recent

One thing you need to watch out for is that most couriers, except Royal Mail, have what they call a remote area surcharge.

For example anyone sending to or from a remote area postcode with evri will be charged around an extra £2.75.