HMRC exemption certificat for VAT - Sole Trader under £85 000

Hello,

eBay restricted my sale, preventing me to put anything on sale, as they ask me a UK VAT registration number.

That said, I am a sole trader, and my yearly turnover is under £85 000, meaning that I have not to enroll to the VAT program.

I did rise the matter to eBay that, even aknowledging my statement, says that they cant do anything unless I provide a "VAT exemption certificate from HMRC".

Research done, HMRC do not in any case provide such certificate for sole trader under the threshold.

Basically eBay is asking for  a prove I am not VAT registred because I have not to be, and HMRC do not provide such document.

I went full circle with eBay customer service few times, always ending with asking me again me that non-existing document, or say they are escalating the matter with a 48h-72h answer time (meaning being let alone and without further contact with them).

Ebay was provided with my full tax return for the last fiscal year, but not sure they even looked at it, even if it shown my turnover < threshold, black on white.

I am on a Kafka logic loop.

Anyone have been on that situation ?

Thanks

Message 1 of 54
See Most Recent
53 REPLIES 53

What exactly have Ebay asked you for originally?

Have you actually checked your turnover as it runs 12 months prior to today (ie a rolling basis) and not April to April.

As an aside, your listings appear to me in Dollars, so do you have things setup correctly on Ebay itself?

Have you spoken to an accountant about it?  I'm not that familiar with the rules surrounding places like Shetland, as they are different, though similar.

And on separate note, you should NOT have a web address for your website on your listings.  That is effectively diverting sales from Eby and is against the rules.