HMRC exemption certificat for VAT - Sole Trader under £85 000

Hello,

eBay restricted my sale, preventing me to put anything on sale, as they ask me a UK VAT registration number.

That said, I am a sole trader, and my yearly turnover is under £85 000, meaning that I have not to enroll to the VAT program.

I did rise the matter to eBay that, even aknowledging my statement, says that they cant do anything unless I provide a "VAT exemption certificate from HMRC".

Research done, HMRC do not in any case provide such certificate for sole trader under the threshold.

Basically eBay is asking for  a prove I am not VAT registred because I have not to be, and HMRC do not provide such document.

I went full circle with eBay customer service few times, always ending with asking me again me that non-existing document, or say they are escalating the matter with a 48h-72h answer time (meaning being let alone and without further contact with them).

Ebay was provided with my full tax return for the last fiscal year, but not sure they even looked at it, even if it shown my turnover < threshold, black on white.

I am on a Kafka logic loop.

Anyone have been on that situation ?

Thanks

Message 1 of 54
See Most Recent
53 REPLIES 53

Re: HMRC exemption certificat for VAT - Sole Trader under £85 000

I think the problem is geographical rather than turnover related

Some of OPs listings are showing in $ dollars, meaning the system for some reason thinks OP is overseas despite the item location showing as Shetland UK

Did you list items on .com? 

If eBay think you, or your goods are overseas they will force you to register for VAT

I would end the listings showing in $ and relist making sure you list on .co.uk not .com. 

You need to sort those $ listings out before eBay will stop asking for VAT registration

I think the turnover thing is a red herring