Business account versus Private seller account

Hiya all. I have been selling on eBay for 16 years now with the same user id and account (one of the longest), I still have 100% feedback score and I am proud of that tbh, but it has not been easy. I just wanted to ask you people if you have noticed the lack of views and bids for your listings? I have noticed terribly that views and bids have chronically dropped in the past 6-12 months. I only sell excellent condition clothing, most are like new. This is my job not a side line and I know somebody as a private seller who makes more money than me and sells more than me and ebay in their fees that they charge me also make more money than me for the majority of the time. I have done a lot of research comparing Business to Private and it appears that a Private seller does in fact make more money. I would so appreciate some feedback on this whether negative or positive to me. Thank you

Message 1 of 80
See Most Recent
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hiya yes I get what you mean, I used to have loads of watchers on my items
and now I am lucky if I get 2-3 on the odd items. Since they changed it (I
believe about 18 months ago) and started taking final value fees from the
postage it has had a very negative impact on my sales, That and no longer
being allowed to leave negs, as the buyer plays on that, it has been dire,
I am very lucky if I earn more than ebay each month. I had to up my postage
to £3.80 which has had a negative effect as people do not want to pay it. I
cannot afford to offer free postage as my items sell for so little now. All
my items are like new but you are not allowed to put that but as far as
buyers are concerned it is used at the end of the day. I had one buyer who
said she did not realise I was a Business seller when I sold her a dress
she did not like, I just refunded her to keep the peace tbh as having 100%
feedback is crucial on ebay in my book. So yes I would say so!