Running Behind? Can anyone help me?

Hi all,

Recently sold a watch to someone, posted the item and it's now saying "Running Behind". Royal Mail tracking is showing nothing as a delivery has not been attempted yet. The customer is getting pretty irate about it and has raised a case about it!

It was won at auction on the 19th and I posted it on the 21st, within time. So the estimate is totally wrong too!

I'm very new to this, have I done something wrong? I am so confused 😞

Screenshot_2024-02-25_17-18-55.png

Message 1 of 44
See Most Recent
43 REPLIES 43

eBay's estimated dates for delivery are a tad ,  actually more than a tad,   optimistic.

This aside,  eBay only work on actual delivery times,  proven by tracking numbers showing delivery.

If your buyer opens a case for item not received there are 3 days to reply and accept this,  to refund your buyer.

Keep a close eye on that time,  if your tracking still doesn't prove delivery,  or even attempted delivery ,  you do need to fully refund your buyer,  through those case details.  

Vital for a new account,   especially as this then will not affect your seller perfomance.

You then try and claim compensation foor yourself from Roya Mail or the courier used for a lost item.

Message 2 of 44
See Most Recent

eBay's estimate is rubbish. Many people complain about this all the time and yet eBay staff say it's all working as normal. 

Copy and paste the tracking number to the tracking part of RM website for more accurate updates. If it's not a trackable service then it's a bit silly of you for not using a fully tracked (and insured) service for a watch that sold for almost £450. 

Actually, after seeing it's a £450 watch, it should have been sent RM special delivery guaranteed next day before 1pm. Even though eBays estimated delivery times are off, I'd have expected very quick premium delivery for something of this value as a buyer. 

Message 3 of 44
See Most Recent