Is there an easy way to work out net profit from sales last year?

Hi

For tax purposes I need to submit my net profit for last year. I'm new to this as I just started selling. Is there an easy way to work this out. The seller hub seems confusing as do the reports it generates. 

Thanks

Message 1 of 11
See Most Recent
10 REPLIES 10

The tax year runs from 6th April 2023 to 5th April this year.

You add up all sales for the year.     You add up all your purchases.  You add up all your expenses such as packaging, posting and so on.  HMRC may allow something [£4 per week] for use of home. 

So take all the costs from your sales and are left with Net Profit which goes on your self assessment. 

If you have other income and have used your allowance you will be charged 20% on the profit.  That may well be added to your 2025 tax and collected by PAYE. 

It sounds worse than perhaps it is.   Or not!    @kool_spot 

Message 2 of 11
See Most Recent

In addition to the above your total sales before deductions must include the cost postage and packing. 

P&P is then deducted as a legitimate expense. 

Message 3 of 11
See Most Recent

papso22
Experienced Mentor

But you are not registered as a business seller?  How can you need to do tax returns (unless you have another, business account, or are trading from a private account).

Message 4 of 11
See Most Recent

if you are submitting for last year eg 22/23 then payments (including POA) and accounts should have been submitted by the 31st Janauary. You will potentially be fined for HMRC for late submission.

My business was a finalist in the ebay business awards 2023.
Message 5 of 11
See Most Recent

rjwilmsi
Conversationalist