New - Set up Shop ads - anyone doing this?

Has anyone else noticed the 'NEW - Set up Shop Ads' in their Edit Shop tab? Or did I miss that announcement? How does it work? Is this a new way for ebay to wring even more money out of us - and please dont tell me that every time someone clicks on 'Visit Shop' from the listing that it is a charge for us if we set this up? 😱

I highly doubt very much that I will ever promote our shop: ebay is now killing our small business by charging us 19% final fees, plus whatever we set the standard PLs at, plus a listing fee (whatever that is for now), plus a monthly shop fee - Could they get any more greedy??! Yes. They could. And it looks like they just did - unless of course they are doing away with the listing fees and shop fees ... ??!

Remind me again - what are listing fees for?
Message 1 of 8
See Most Recent
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I'm in two minds about this one.

I'm not an expert, but this is how it looks to a non-tech person like me.

eBay pays Google (and presumably other search engines) for advertisements sending potential buyers to eBay.  Lots of these are complete rubbish - the generic sort you get when you type in "Malachi Wanderers B team curling results" into Google and get half a page of ads saying "Buy Malachi Wanderers B team curling results cheap on eBay.  BEST PRICES IN TOWN" - and linking you to an eBay page showing zero results for your search.   eBay likes this sort of ad because it's cheap and auto-generated, and presumably drives some absent-minded people to eBay.  Lots of clicks, a few sales, but very, very cheap.

Google doesn't like them, because it ends up with people not using Google search if the first page of results are all this sort of useless stuff.