General Partnership

I was a sole trader on ebay but formed a partnership (me and my wife). I changed the business type to general partnership. It then came back and asked for "official partnership document". I uploaded the letter from HMRC with the UTR number on but this failed verification. Having spent a good while on ebay chat they were saying I need to send them a partnership tax return which I do not have (partnership was formed tax year 23-24), so tax return due by Jan 2025

I am now trying to get them to put it back to sole trader so I can change it later when I do a tax return. In the chat they also mention "May I ask, have you tried uploading an Agreement Tax document for each partner within the last tax year?"

Anyone know what else they could be asking for or what I can give them?
Message 1 of 8
See Most Recent
7 REPLIES 7

General Partnership

I don't know what they'll be asking you for, next but whatever it is, it will be based on something that is universal in the USA but not relevant to a normal husband-and-wife partnership in the UK.

eBay has never been able to cope with the notion of a UK "common-or-garden" general partnership, and iyour best bet is probably to continue trying to persuade you to reset the account to sole trader.  It won't affect your tax returns - you just use the trading figures from the sole trader account, and split them 50/50 or whatever proportion is appropriate between the two of you.

Cesario, the Count's gentleman
Message 2 of 8
See Most Recent

General Partnership

Yep I think you are right there and that may be my only option. I have created a partnership agreement and sent that to them just to see what happens, but I would be surprised if that works. Otherwise I will hope they can reset me back to how I was. I will update here if I get anywhere just in case someone else has the same problem.