Meet Hannah Daragon, founder and self-proclaimed ‘Chief Mischief Maker’ at Hannah’s Games. A teacher by trade, Hannah started running her online party games business full-time in 2016 when she felt she had to choose between motherhood and her career. Now, she runs a thriving business on eBay selling games for every occasion you can think of – birthdays, Christmas, and even Eurovision – all from her home in Devon.

Get to know Hannah in her own words below (and check out her eBay Shop). Hannah will also be joining our seller panels at eBay Open UK. So be sure to say hello if you’re joining us in either Manchester (14 September) or London (21 September).

How did your journey as a business on eBay begin?

I first started selling on eBay when I was still a teacher, initially selling my teaching resources as digital downloads for a bit of fun. I started to dabble in selling party games when I fell ill and had to have a lot of time off work. It was at a time in my life when we were invited to a lot of parties - from hen dos, to baby showers or girls’ night parties. Every time I went to a party I would turn up with a game. Then, when I was recovering from a major surgery, I had the idea to start selling my games on eBay. Every game I made I created completely by hand.

Once I was back to full health I went back to my job as a teacher and had my son not too long after. From there, I quickly realised my teaching career was at a tipping point, when I asked for part-time hours and was told you can’t be a leader and a mum. I was expected to take a demotion - so instead I walked out, focused fully on starting my business on eBay, and haven’t looked back. That was in 2016, and since then Hannah’s Games has only gone from strength to strength.

Why did you choose eBay?