VAT

I just realised thst Ebay has been taking VAT as fees for my sale  items. I am a UK resident and just selling second hand clothes thst I own. Why am I being charged vat. I have sold heaps of things on here so they owe me lots of money back.  I cannot find anywhere to talk to them. How do I call or email the . 

Message 1 of 14
See Most Recent
13 REPLIES 13

VAT

All sellers pay VAT on their fees,with private sellers it is included in eBays 12.8%+30p but Its the VAT portion of your seller fees which is shown apart on your invoices.

With Business sellers it ishown as variable fee price +VAT 

Message 2 of 14
See Most Recent

VAT

papso22
Experienced Mentor

What you sell is irrelevant to whether ebay charges you VAT on their fees.  Ebay are providing you with a taxable service, they have to charge you VAT on that.

Message 3 of 14
See Most Recent

VAT

rjwilmsi
Conversationalist

There is VAT on eBay's fees because that's the law.

When you go into a shop to see the price of a TV the price you see includes VAT. You have to pay that price even if you are a private individual. The VAT is there even if the price shown doesn't mention VAT.

Write to your MP if you believe you have a worthwhile proposal for changes to VAT law.

Message 4 of 14
See Most Recent

VAT

@zitalondon wrote:

Why am I being charged vat. 

You are charged VAT on most things. For example, you pay 5% on gas and electricity, 20% on most things you buy from shops (except most food items), 20% on takeaways, 20% on petrol/diesel...