Custom tax

Good afternoon

I recently sold and shipped some items to Brazil. This is my first time sneding items abroad. 

I sent via royal mail with a tracking order and completed the customs form at the post office.

The buyer is now saying that they have been taxed on £500 of goods instead of £50 of goods.

They have asked me to contact the Customs of Brazil or they asking for a refund and then return it to them with the customs declaration filed out correctly.

Has anyone had anything like this before?

I don't want to get involved in returns but I don't know where I stand. I don't have a photo of the customs label as it was done at the post office. 

Message 1 of 9
See Most Recent
8 REPLIES 8

Custom tax

*vyolla*
Experienced Mentor

Sounds like somebody put an extra zero on the value field on the customs label.

Do you have the tracking number?

Message 2 of 9
See Most Recent

Custom tax

Hi

Yes, I do have the tracking number at home. Will this confirm the value?

Message 3 of 9
See Most Recent

Custom tax

@*vyolla* wrote:

Sounds like somebody put an extra zero on the value field on the customs label.

Do you have the tracking number?

Or Brazillian Customs have misread the figure?  

Message 4 of 9
See Most Recent

Custom tax

papso22
Experienced Mentor

Do not refund and do not try and contact Customs in Brazil.  The buyer will have enough information from the listing and payment details to challenge the Custom's declaration themselves.  I assume it should only have been £50?

Message 5 of 9
See Most Recent

Custom tax

@lincolnladybird wrote:

Hi

Yes, I do have the tracking number at home. Will this confirm the value?

No, but it will enable both you and your buyer to work out where the item is at any given time.

As @papso22 has pointed out, your buyer should be able to supply the order details and payment details to prove the value.