Is eBay finished for clothing sellers?!

So I've been selling on eBay for several years now and the last 8 weeks have been dreadful. Utterly dreadful. 
I am used to doing 4-5K a month in sales and for December I took less than £2000... this month so far I've done £71..... 

In many years I've never had weekly payouts under £500.

i haven't had a weekly payout of more than £500 in 7 weeks. This weeks is looking to struggle to get to £100.

i don't think that with 500+ items and thousands in stock I can afford to pay to use eBay anymore. After the addtional fees and shop cost I'm better off closing and selling on a private account ......

I sell purely clothing and it seems like nobody is buying clothes from eBay anymore, I recently set up a Vinted page and I'm selling more on there than eBay with only 10-15% of my stuff listed on there.....

would like to hear from any other clothing sellers as to how they are doing; whether good or bad. 

Message 1 of 25
See Most Recent
24 REPLIES 24

Re: Is eBay finished for clothing sellers?!

Oh I don't know, we are almost two weeks in now and I've seen sales increase, not decrease.

Message 21 of 25
See Most Recent

Vinted is flooded with charity shop 'bargains'.  If you're expecting an item as described  you have a 15% chance of getting what you expect.  You have a 40% chance of a usable item and the remaining 45% will mean you have to bin it or pay return postage (if the seller accepts the return).

If the listing shows a rather plump lady wearing occasion apparel, then it's probably a genuine seller.  Albeit the garment has stretched seams because MOB or MOG has squeezed her size 18 frame into a size 14 dress because she got it cheap.  Same thing goes for the shoes and matching bag - lovely, as new, uppers, but no image of the heels because they've got more craters than a volcano.