Screenshot 2024-02-07 111033.jpg

Message 1 of 15
See Most Recent
14 REPLIES 14

Attention all Jewellery Sellers. Increase in FVF from March

peturning
Conversationalist

Ouch!

It's a very strange direction to be moving in. Ebay Germany have abolished all selling fees and I'm sure we're all aware of growing competition from other services in the UK that too charge zero selling fees (they charge buyers instead).

I'm no business expert but it seems to me that growth is reliant on attracting more sellers and these sky high fees do not do that. It also pushes existing sellers elsewhere and opens up opportunity for a competitor to emerge.

Message 2 of 15
See Most Recent

I have to say I'm not in the least bit surprised.

I stopped selling when Managed Payments was introduced and the FVF increased from 10% to 12.8%+30p, not only because I didn't (and still don't) trust eBay with my bank details but also because of the cynical increase in the FVF - bringing payments in-house should have reduced costs; it only served to increase eBay's bottom line.

I commented to a friend of mine at the time that the only way eBay could increase their profits was to either increase the number of sales or increase the FVF and my guess was that the FVF would increase to 15% within a couple of years. I think eBay are starting with the Jewellery category to see how it goes, but the rather cynical "We're committed to investing ... programmes such as the Authenticity Guarantee" suggests that higher FVFs will be rolled out, at least initially, to other AGP categories and, I would not be at all surprised, ultimately to all categories.

After 7th March you will be paying a whopping £150 (plus 30p) commission on a £1000 sale, including 14.9% commission on the P&P element of a sale. Wow. Just wow...

Message 3 of 15
See Most Recent

@peturning wrote:

Ouch!

Ebay Germany have abolished all selling fees

Only for private sellers.

Message 4 of 15
See Most Recent