I am new to eBay & cannot place any bids -"You have reached a temporary buying restriction"

I am new to eBay and so far, despite trying a number of times, I have been unable to place a single bid. I have linked my eBay account with my Paypal account and my is verified at every opportunity. I have never bought or sold any items on eBay so I can't understand why a restriction has been imposed. the following is the message that appears wen i attempt to place a bid...

"You have reached a temporary buying restriction.

You can only buy items where you can pay immediately at checkout. To continue, find an item with an immediate payment method and click on the 'Add to Cart' button on the listing" 

I would appreciate it if anyone could help me to resolve this problem????

Thanks !!

Message 1 of 5
See Most Recent
4 REPLIES 4

I am new to eBay & cannot place any bids -"You have reached a temporary buying restriction"

When you run into buying limits, a great way to lift them is to put a credit card on file as additional verification. You might be charged a small amount to authorise the account, to be refunded within 7 to 10 days.

To put a credit card on file:

1. Go to the Account tab in My eBay and click Personal Information.
  2. Under Financial Information, click Edit.
  3. Enter your credit card information, then click Continue.
****************************************************************************************

A consignment of geriatric shoe manufacturers.
Message 2 of 5
See Most Recent

@temperate_porcine wrote:

When you run into buying limits, a great way to lift them is to put a credit card on file as additional verification. You might be charged a small amount to authorise the account, to be refunded within 7 to 10 days.

To put a credit card on file:

1. Go to the Account tab in My eBay and click Personal Information.
  2. Under Financial Information, click Edit.
  3. Enter your credit card information, then click Continue