What's the deal with RM Large Letter nowadays?

Hi.

I took a small book to two PO's in my town.  It was in an A4 letter envelope and within the dimensions of RM Large Letter.  The weight was 330g.  Both PO's quoted me small parcel price of £4.13 when I asked for 1st class. 

I thought Large Letter could go up to 750g?   

When I queried this they said it was because of the weight.  I'm confused because according to the RM website it should have been Large Letter and only cost £3.30.

Message 1 of 9
See Most Recent
8 REPLIES 8

Weight is up to 750g for Large Letter. So as long as the item did fit the LL size, you should only have been charged for Large Letter.

Do you have scales and a tape measure? If so, weigh & measure parcels at home and buy the labels online from RM.

Message 2 of 9
See Most Recent

LL size has to be max 35.3 x 25 x 2.5cm. Most of the time it's the 2.5cm thickness that goes over into a small parcel

Message 3 of 9
See Most Recent

I have been posting for a living now for over 20 years and know for a fact that post office counter staff upsell this way with large letter items.   I recently found a way around it but I am lucky enought o live near my post office sorting depot.  If you take items there with paid postage they do not even check the weight or size of your package.  They treat you like the adult and rsponsible seller that you are and asume you have measured and weighed yourself to check it is covered by the postage bought.   The consequences of not doing so will see your buyer charged a lot extra to get the parcel delivered so who would take the chance on attracting that hassle?   It has made my life so much easier and I meet much more friendly staff at the depot, this is where you pick up your post that has had delivery attempted if you were not in.     Check to see where yours is at it is much more convenient than queueing at the post offixce.  Hope this helps.

Message 4 of 9
See Most Recent