ebay Payments - BACS or Faster Payments

Hi everyone,

I am new to selling on ebay, well six months. Pretty much all my payouts have been processed by Faster Payments, the largest of which was for just under £800. However on Thursday last week, I received a regular notice of a payout c£350 and expected it to drop into my account imminently. It did not. Nothing on friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday... And nothing today either.

As I am sure you all know, there are two payment systems in the UK. Faster Payments and BACs, Faster payments is great, it runs 24/7 and holidays do not impact it. BACS payments take up to four days and only working days to boot. Its the favourite of people with antiquated banking systems and those who want to earn a few days extra interest on balances.

ebay confirmed that the payout was sent by BACs and I have been trying to find out what the criteria is in the system to determine which payment system is used. Then one can plan.

In this trek I spoke to a very annoying ebay manager who, while admitting that - for a reason she declined to state - ebay chose to send the payout via BACS this time not Faster Payments . When I asked for clarification of the criteria for BACS vs Faster Payment her whole narrative was that it was my banks fault for any delay. She was obviously an intelligent woman who was simply choosing not to understand me or engage honestly. 

Most of the time I am happy and supportive of ebay and the support i get, but then there are times like this and it becomes patently clear that those at the top dont give a rats wotsit about me and are happy to lie and be difficult.

So, in the community what are your experiences with ebays choice of Faster Payments vs BACs ? Is there a rule or logic? 

Message 1 of 12
See Most Recent
11 REPLIES 11

Did you check you Bank Account to see if they are still processing you Payout with it being Easter Holidays?