Reposted in buying

Resposted in buying

Message 1 of 4
See Most Recent
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Reposted in buying

Solved see bottom

Here is the original question that I posted.

I think it's in the wrong section though, I gave up eventually because this forum is very confusing and the question is trivial to most because they don't understand the problem.

I should add I'm an eBay search veteran, I literally search every free moment I have almost like research on all things I need to achieve.  A lot of it is motoring related but everything really.

I want to buy an engine or a whole Ford zephyr car. 

Search is very confused by this concept. 

If I search for "zephyr" in classic cars I get 165 results most of which do not contain this word whatsoever

If i search for the zephyr's close relative the "zodiac" in classic cars I get 5 results, all Ford zodiacs.

If i search "zephyr engine" in all categories I get 680000 irrelevant results. 

If i search "zodiac engine" in all categories I get 154 relavant results.

It's making my life very difficult indeed. 

Anybody know why search is broken by the word zephyr?

There seems no place to report inconsistent search actions, it's like eBay simply presumes it works fine.

I appreciate the reply but I'm telling you there is something about the word that breaks the search algorithm.  Search something common, corsa for example (type of vauxhall car) and it will reliably show you vauxhall corsa stuff.

Search something very obscure and it will still usually show you reliable stuff.  Eg. I just tried "singer engine" General search: 243 results all relevant.   Zephyr engine 680000 results!  Zephyr breaks search like nothing else I can try.  Find another if you can.

I FIGURED IT OUT... 

Ebay must search not only the word but the meaning of the word.  Zephyr is a "soft gentle breeze" aparantly.  Most of the results of zephyr engine are air ducting and air intake products with the word 'air' in the title.