A recommendation sought for a good inexpensive Sat Nav. please :-)

I'm in need of a Sat Nav. but havent really got a clue where to start in regards to choosing whats best.

Has anyone got any recommentations please, as always cost is a concern.

I'm a women driver with a poor sense of direction lol and my manual navigator (hubby) sadly is getting increasingly confused by trafic, directions and my written routes Smiley Sad

Any help would be most appreciated, thank you. xxx

++++++++++++++++++++++++
Next mood swing in 6 minutes
++++++++++++++++++++++++

Message 1 of 11
See Most Recent
10 REPLIES 10

Have a read of this, it should help you choose & answer any questions you might have. Click on the red box at the end with tomtom 40 go written in it and then look through what's on offer.

http://www.trustedreviews.com/best-sat-navs_round-up

Message 2 of 11
See Most Recent

I've just had a look on my local Gumtree,and there are a few for sale,in the price range: £15 for an RAC satnav,£20 & £25,I wouldn't pay much more than that

We are many,They are few
Message 3 of 11
See Most Recent

The main problem with buying a second hand sat nav is that the 'free' map updates may have expired which would mean that the routing data can be horrendously out of date.

My elderley father uses a Garmin nuvi 50 as he only needs UK mapping and they can be picked up for around £40.00 new.

If you need European mapping try a Garmin Nuvi 57LM for around £80.00 new.

Message 4 of 11
See Most Recent

Garmin  in is the only make I would buy.

Message 5 of 11
See Most Recent

If you have an android or smart phone then there is no need to buy a separate sat-nav, both the android and smart phones do the job just as well.

Message 6 of 11
See Most Recent

If you often drive to places you don't know then it would be wise to buy the best you can afford - maybe spend a little bit more than you really want to. After all getting lost all the time uses fuel and that costs money.