eBay recently changed policy and is now Forcing Returns

I've been selling on eBay for over 24 years, up until a few days ago I have listed and sold all items without returns (unless defective, not as described etc) - but now when I try to list in any category eBay won't permit my listing to go through unless I accept toggle on accepting returns. I know returns help get sales, but I've also experienced situations where buyers abuse this - so out of personal choice I've listed my policy as not accepting returns, until just the other day. I contacted ebay "customer service" and they told me that due to a high volume of issues with other sellers they have now blanket enforced accepting returns - has anyone else found this recently?

Message 1 of 14
See Most Recent
13 REPLIES 13

papso22
Experienced Mentor

Never heard of that policy.

Message 2 of 14
See Most Recent

Thats news to me too..... Are you able to provide a copy of the transcript or a link to the relevant part of policy which states this?

My business was a finalist in the ebay business awards 2023.
Message 4 of 14
See Most Recent

"I've been selling on eBay for over 24 years"

Hope you have very deep pockets 🤐

Message 5 of 14
See Most Recent

Perhaps it is because you look like a business seller and business sellers have to accept returns.

Message 6 of 14
See Most Recent

I totally agree. having looked at their listings, it appears that it is a business and not a private seller. Surprised that Ebay have not instructed them to change. Maybe forcing to accept returns is the first step.

Message 7 of 14
See Most Recent

Noticed so many of these threads lately where a business seller masquerading as a private seller is complaining about something fairly trivial.