New ID requirements are too intrusive

I've been using EBay for over 23 years, mostly buying and selling my own clothes. I've decided to stop using EBay to sell my own clothes because of their enhanced ID requirements which I feel are unnecessarily intrusive in order for me to prove I'm not a money launderer! Surely one glance at the account will tell you that I'm not by the value of items.

Out of principle, i'll refuse to share, and thus store with EBay, my enhanced ID data, simply to prove to you my innocence! Vinted here we come, I'm afraid. EBay really doesn't need to know that by me selling a second hand top for a tenner means I could be laundering money... it smacks of data harvesting on a grand scale. Hammer to crack a nut or something more sinister?

Message 1 of 7
See Most Recent
6 REPLIES 6

You will find that Vinted will also ask for certain ID checks, if you reach a certain level of sales they will ask you for your passport or other ID documents to prove your identity.

Most online selling platforms will at some point ask you to prove your identity. There are checks in place to ensure people are who they say they are. It is not something you can escape from if you want to sell online.

Message 2 of 7
See Most Recent

... thank you for your reply... But if I am only selling a handful of items a year, and have only sold a handful of items a year for the last 20 years, I still maintain that the requirement of photographic ID is overbearing. I appreciate the time you've taken to reply to me. But I'm not a business selling clothes for a living, I'm simply a woman selling the odd dress or top!

Message 3 of 7
See Most Recent

The security measure is excellent for exactly the way you are using your account.