Ebay system glitch resulting in payment to PayPal but no order being created.

What I really want is a phone number of an ebay customer support person.. WHY ?  because I have spent more than 2 hours explaining the ebay problem with their chat system -Not only to ONE person but to THREE people . SO FAR none of the ebay support people can even understand the problem because it does not follow the pattern they expect !

The system PRETENDS that it is easy to phone a customer support human being but does all it can to bamboozle you --- And in my case results in never giving me a phone number  VERY CLEVER EBAY. !

The problem is a technical one where the system takes payment before actually completing the order. In my case the seller did not even receive the order nor  (for an item previously bought does this previous order  show on my purchase history) !

PLEASE SOMEONE GIVE ME AN EBAY PHONE NUMBER. ?

ps I am not a newbie . Been an ebay customer for 22 years !

Message 1 of 7
See Most Recent
6 REPLIES 6

tobiasd4
Experienced Mentor

There is no phone number you can call ebay on, only callback.

At a guess, your issue is related to when making an offer you have to add payment details, or can't make offer. 

If offer accepted,  payment taken immediately. 

This is a new system ebay has opted sellers into, many not aware.

Only sellers can opt out, not buyers

If something different, please explain.

Message 2 of 7
See Most Recent

Thanks for response but NO that is not the answer.

I Ordered something for delivery to myself. Paypal taken and ordered item delivered …All OK

Within minutes of the 1st order I ordered the same article for delivery to a friend.Paypal taken
but no normal order completion by eBay received. Could easily have been something to do with the way I ordered
using my iPhone. Nevertheless some sort of eBay system malfunction.

From this 2nd order I can ascertain from my PayPal details that the payment referred to some form of gobbledegook