Highlighted
Community Member
Accepted Solution

Dubious Ebay Seller

Hi I've been reporting to eBay for the last 2 years a seller constant relisting  different items on the same listing number 

It has got so bad that the seller is showing positive feedback for unrelated items.  The feedback left is for a previous product 

some of the item listing numbers  have had at least 10 or more changes,  and despite only a selling 2 or 3 are show between 300 and 3000+ items sold.  

In essence the quantity sold is fake and the reviews are fake as they're unrelated to the current item being sold  

Ebay are saying there isnt a policy that prevents sellers doing what ever they like. 

Heres an example 

Original item listed in 2012  has had at least 15 product changes on the listing showing its sold over 3000 yet is nearer a couple of hundred.  In the listing it says new for 2018   

Anyone come across these dubious practices before?  

Community Member

Re: Dubious Ebay Seller

in reply to em.karaoke

Forgot to add  that obviously a buyer is making an informed decision on their purchase so looks at the popularity of the item sold and makes an informed purchase by looking at the feedback

except they havent sold as many as they think and the err feedback isnt for that item.  surely ebay have a policy against this 

Community Member

in reply to em.karaoke
Y'know I'm not sure there is a policy against this. I know you can totally alter a listing you started under a £1 fvf special offer, to a tally different item so you Kerri that special offer... At least I've seen ppl say they can and they do this.
Community Member

in reply to gindygoo

This seller has items £100 + and because the listings are changed always remains at the top organically 

The feedback obviously is fake and buyers are thinking its for the item they're buying when its not.   

Community Member

in reply to em.karaoke

So as it stands if there isn't a policy