Buyer time left to shop
Summary: davids1954corvette expressed frustration about not being able to print shipping labels immediately due to a three-hour wait period for buyers to potentially purchase additional items. thedudesstuff highlighted concerns about this feature potentially causing confusion and unnecessary refunds for sellers. Several participants, including *vyolla* and neovass0, clarified that sellers are not obligated to wait and can proceed to ship items immediately if the transaction is finalized. tomsrunning noted an inconvenience caused by this delay during their travel. moonlight-rhapsody asked if the feature applied to all sellers, with clarification provided by sml192 that it mostly affects private sellers using Simple Delivery. The discussion suggests this system aims to simplify the shipping process for multiple purchases, though it appears to have mixed reviews among users.
Why is it now that when a buyer pays for something it won't let you print a label
for about 3 hours in case they want to buy something else???
Is this something the seller can turn off? Or do we just have to wait the 3 or 4 hours before we can print a label?? Thankyou
thedudesstuff
路1 week agoThis all seems over complex with no one really knowing whats going on or how to use it.
Imagine going to a supermarket and having no idea how and where to check out?
The seller does not need to see there is an open basket to to print a label for this time expires.
Keep it simple and of course perhaps eBay coudl just let us know when we have a sale
Before the Dark Times, Before the Empire
neovass0
路1 week agoThere were countless complaints from private sellers on simple delivery, about combined postage when you have buyers purchase multiple items separately. I presume this is an effort from ebay to finally deal with that, as any orders from a single buyer within that 3 hour period are now treated as a single order and automatically combined. Furthermore, I have noticed you no longer essentially lose a dispatch day when a buyer purchases very late at night. I use to hate an 11.55 pm sale, lol. Now, the sale is only processed as complete after that 3 hour period, ie an 11.55 pm sale on a Monday (for example) is now essentially a 2.55 am sale on a Tuesday.
tomsrunning
路1 week agoThis is a really annoying change. I had someone buy an item at 8:01 this morning and I set off on a 2 week holiday at 10:30am. I was not notified of the sale until later in the day. So the customer will have to wait 2 weeks now to receive it. If I had been notified in the normal way I could have posted it before leaving.
papso22
路1 week ago 路 EditedYou should have set holiday mode the day before.
moonlight-rhapsody
路1 week agoDoes this new system just apply to business sellers because as a private seller, I haven't had any notification about it.
sml192
路1 week agoAs far as I am aware it only applies to Private Sellers using Simple Delivery.
moonlight-rhapsody
路1 week agoThanks for letting me know 馃憤
*vyolla*
路1 week ago@davids1954corvette There's nothing that needs turning off, it's just a recommendation that you hold back from posting straight away if there's a possibility that the buyer may be bidding on more of your items.
You can safely ignore it and post the item out now if they're not.
Automatic Postage Combination: If an initial purchase is made and the buyer completes the payment, the 3-hour wait feature pauses checkout for subsequent purchases. Any additional items bought from your store within this timeframe will automatically group together in the shopping basket for combined postage.
聽
No Waiting to Ship for Sellers: You are not required to hold off on dispatching an order while waiting for this 3-hour window to pass. If a transaction has been paid for and finalised, you can proceed to print shipping labels.
sml192
路1 week agoOut of interest, where is that text taken from as it doesn't appear to be in any of the help pages?
*vyolla*
路1 week agoCan't recall, thought it was an eBay page somewhere that I C&P'd and then reworked a bit.
sml192
路1 week agoOkay, no worries.
thedudesstuff
路1 week agoThat is not the point I'm making.
If the buyer has time to shop with you and knows this overriding the timer when they wanted more time may just annoy them and feel ripped off in shipping?
Sellers do not need to watch their orders or timers or print labels sooner.
All we need to know is there has been a firm closed order after the timer runs out and this SHOULD be as it used to be for sales ...sent to the TASKS section on you homepage telling you to ship
sml192
路1 week ago 路 EditedBy 'homepage' are you referring to the 'Sales overview' page or the main eBay homepage? Are you using the app or website? On the app it does move to the tasks section of the 'Sales overview' page once the 3 hour waiting time has elapsed.
I believe that if the buyer purchases further items during the 3 hour window that they still get the postage discount even if the seller has already printed the label for/despatched the first item.
barry.110
路1 week agoI had this happen to something I sold yesterday. I only noticed because I saw that where I had 11 items for sale it had gone down to 10. I didn't get a notification on my page so I thought I had somehow managed to delete the item or that eBay had removed it for some reason. It took a bit of digging before I saw that it had sold and the buyer had "Time left to shop".
thedudesstuff
路1 week agoIm unsure then if the buyer has actually been charged for the item if they have 3 hours left to shop? would they not be charged once the timer runs out?
As ive been told the buyer even has the right to cancel in this time too.
So if forcing a label as a selling this closes this timer window and forces a collection of payment.
If then the buyer has purchased and NOT just put in in their basket this forces the sales to complete.
If then the buyer then says hang on I had 3 hours to change my mind / cancel or add more why have you done this?
Its only going to create all manner of hassle and refunds is it not
Sellers do not need to watch the countdown or override
All we need is for a FIRM sale to to sent to the TASKS section on the main homepage - now replaced by the amazing READY TO RESELL section...?
sugarsa-21
路2 weeks agoIf you go on all orders , you have the option to print the label