eBay just informed me that "Someone has signed in to your account, was it you?"
eBay just informed me that "Someone has signed in to your account, was it you?" and then gives me a location about 200 miles from where I am. The software obviously forgets who I am, where I am, and which browser I'm using. It's done this before and each time I've changed my password. However today I KNOW it's me that signed in. eBay need to get their facts right or look at their GPS! I don't want to have to change my password EVERY TIME I check in, on the off-chance I'm being scammed!
Of course I tried to message eBay but I just get a brainless bot.
3 comments
tobiasd4
Mentor4 months agoLocation is where your ISP is using, nothing to do with ebay.
As said, as long as you are happy it was you logged in at the time, no issues.
We all get these.
john1297576
Mentor4 months agoSo long as you logged it at the time ebay say, then this sort of message is not unusual. Something to do with the route taken by the log in message.
flatbackmando
OP4 months agoI understand what eBay is doing - and grateful for the alert.
HOWEVER if I'd not seen the eBay alert until a day or two later, it could look as though someone had tried to break into my account; any which point I would have to change my password yet AGAIN.
Why? Because the "location" of the person making access bears NO relation to my location .. the attempted access looks as though it was done several hundred miles away at the other end of the country! This time, it came soon after I had accessed my browser so I KNEW it was me.