missnearlyvintage
Community Member

Item not as described, return postage cost issues - help please!

Hi everyone,

This is my first time on the forums so be gentle please. 

I won an item on ebay, and paid through paypal. I then received the item but it was not as described and so I contacted the seller who told me to return the item if I was not happy with it. As the fault was with the seller I asked whether I would get reimbursed for the return postage costs I would incur returning the item, and the seller agreed by ebay message that she would reimburse me the return postage cost.

About five days ago I received a refund for the item and original postage cost after returning it, but I did not receive the money for return postage and I have emailed the seller twice about this now with no reply. 

Please can anyone let me know what I can do to get this postage cost reimbursed as the postage cost was quite expensive compared to the item I bought and the seller did agree to reimburse me. 

Thanks very much for your help. I would ring customer services but can't at present as my Son is sleeping next to me... 

I hope someone can help soon please!

Please use plain text.
aernethril
Community Member

Re: Item not as described, return postage cost issues - help please!

in reply to missnearlyvintage

Unfortunately eBay cannot force the seller to refund the return postage and this remains one of the big problem issues.

Was it a private or business seller?

I think, unless someone else knows any different, that this is when it comes down to how far you are prepared to try and recover that loss.

If it was a business seller, you could let them know that they are obliged to refund your return postage costs by law for a defective item that was returned to them and that you'll be reporting the matter to your local trading standards and seeking help to recover the outstanding amount.