Good books on introduction to cooking?

In the past year I've started as a kitchen porter working in a kitchen and about 3 months in moved up to commis chef position which I've been doing since. The thing is I don't actually know the first thing about "cooking"; I cook the food on the menu of my restaurant and make well-presented salads but I'd like to know everything about cooking and I don't know where to start. My flatmate is a brilliant cook with a real passion for food and he can show me so much but it's just really overwhelming knowing where to start. Are there any good books out there for total beginners, explaining what's good for you, techniques etc. Thanks

Message 1 of 13
See Most Recent
12 REPLIES 12

Delia Smith's  three book How to Cook series was very well received when it first came out and starts right from the basics. I brought them for my brother in law when they first came out and he was impressed, although I've no direct experience of them myself.

They are also very readily available, very cheaply so you can take a punt of a few pounds on the first book to see if you get on with it

Message 2 of 13
See Most Recent

Agree with Jeff.  If pennies are tight, there's always a good selection in The W*rks, just be guided by the titles, eg Cooking For Beginners.  Ebay is a good source too, once you know what book you want you can generally pick it up for a couple of quid instead of the 20 or 30 quid the big names charge.  Try charity shops too - I've just picked up New Larousse Gastronomique for two quid from our local cancer shop - and that's one of the French cookery standards (despite the name it's in English!)

Much depends on the type of cookery you're interested in - I'm guessing classical cuisine rather than Hairy Biker.  You can't go far wrong with anything by Robert Carrier.

Why not ask on the Family, Home & Garden board?  They are slightly more domestic-minded.  Good luck, and let us know how it goes

Message 3 of 13
See Most Recent